Welcome to my Anime Talk Area!

Totty:

Some of my favorite Anime:

September 16 2024 2:04 am

August 15 2024 8:49 pm

Its over a month since I,ve updated this area. I'm still playing higurashi and am on chapter 7 now. Its funny seeing how wrong my theories were. Takano is more important than she seemed to be in past chapters and Rika is an interesting character. This is weeby but Takanos first name Miyo三四means 3 4 in japanese. Ooishi大石means big stone. Rikas last name furude古手means old hand. I wish i understood more kanji so I coukd know the rest of the characters names. Keiichi's name seems to be jewel 1 but im unfamilar with this jewel kanji圭一. Im excited to play through the rest of the chapter. I watched the first few minutes of chapter 1 on youtube again after learning Hanyuu was the one apologizing to Keiichi. I laughed when it used the word demure. I might be able to finish chapter 7 tonight. I want to move on to other games but at the same time I don't want higurashi to be over.

I played more higurashi. I'm on chapter 5 and Shion is an interesting protagonist with how mean she is. I've started noticing lots of flaws in the translation. Not real mistranslations but parts that are dissapointing. For example a joke about eating katsudon in the interrogation room was taken out cause it seems the translators assumed the american audiences wouldn't get the reference. Another dramatic scene where the protagonists was forced to take her own finger nails off was worse in english due to the translation. I'm glad im listening with a mod that gives japanese voice acting because the english dialogue falls flat. In the same scene the japanese dialogue used "........." 17 times with varying amounts of periods while the english translation did it 7 times with only "..." and no changes in the amount of periods used. I don't want to be too nit picky but the pasues in the japanese dialogue make the protagonist reaction to the torture feel more erratic. Shions behavior is interesting and im excited to see how this chapter will go. I assume Satoshi will come back in a time skip as i've seen a clip from the anime of them both alive and in bunny girl uniforms.

August 11 2024 3:35 pm

I started Yuppie Pyscho last night. I bought it randomly during the steam summer sale with no previous knowledge. So far
the game seems alright but i'm not a fan of the save system. Limited saves don't make a game scarier, just more enfuriating to play. The anxiety
comes from not wanting your hour of playing to be wasted which is completely seperate than a fear of a zombie in a game. I like how the protagonist
looks. He's drawn like a cute anime girl which gives the buisness man look some gap moe. I'm not much of a gamer but I want to play more games.
I use a mac though so my options are limited.

August 10 2024 1:20 am

I finished higurashi chapter 4 himatsubushi earlier today.I haven't bought the next chapter yet and debating if I should go right into
it or take a break and play a differnt game. The creator mentions you should let your theories all marinate in your head before you hop
into the next chapter as the questions will start to be answered ruining some theories.

As of chapter 4 we know Rika seems to be a sort of clarvoyent, Rena seems to have been cursed, Mion is possibly possesed to do the
murders and Satoko seems to be mostly a victim with possible mental health issues(though I read a youtube comment on accident
that implied Satokos a more sinister character). The series does seem to be a time loop and the end of chapter 4 is suprisingly in an alternate
version of chapter 4 with the only difference being Ooishi's partner Kuma is mentioned to have gone missing instead of Kuma.The chapters that makes
the least sense so far are chapter 1 and 3. In chapter 3 keichi seems to be implied to have the creepy anime girl eyes, commit a murder and then get sent
to an alternate universe. Does this mean whoever killed Tomitake and Takano was in a similar situation. If the curse killings are caused by real grudges
edged on by gods than who even has a grudge against the 2. Takano possibly has some reason to hate Tomitake she keeps secret which leads to her murdering
him. She could also easily have him play the role of her boyfriend in some blackmail situation. But this is farfetched and has low proof. Im chasing
around for theories but maybe the Takano and Tomitake from alternate universes killed eachother.

If Oyashiro Sama is real are they a kind god? Is all the work just the work of demons against his wil. If Rika is Oyashiro Sama I believe he is a kind god
But who is the demon possesed by Mion in chapter 2? The real Oyashiro, An alternate demon god not mentioned yet, Mions second personality or a random demon?
What is the mystery drug in chapter 1? Was Keichi even injected with the real thing? Was keichi really demoned away in this chapter or is that reserved for killers in this worlds logic. Theres also the ring super power magic in chapter 2. If its a timeloop when does it even loop? Cause many epilogues go years after the events. In chapter 1 Rika lives and is never a target like she mentions in the other chapters prophecies.Besides the deaths of a few characters was this almost a good ending.

I'd like to wrap up because i've already gone on too long. My most rational theory is the god that causes possesed killings is a seperate god to the one that loops and sends killers to alternate universe. This still doesn't answer why this only started 5 years ago. Was the dam project to destroy the town and the evil within it or just a coincidental trigger? I'ts around 2:00 am now and I'll see what i'll play after. I might play zero escape 3, Yuppie psycho(don't know what its about, bought during steam sale) or just buy the new higurashi chapter. I also bought Disco elysium but im scared to play because I don't really play "real" games. I like silent hill and metal gear though.
Edit: Just remembered how in chapter 2 Mion was found dead days before she stabbed you and shion. The death autopsy reports are also wrong for everyone. Does this show the bodies are all alternate universes or just more supernatural going on with Mions possesion. Theres so many details I forgot I almost want to replay through all the chapters before moving on to my questions being answered.

August 9 2024 2:23 pm

Debating treating this section as a blog just for anime or for anything I watch/read. I'd like to make this section really weeby
It might be strange going from writing about some cute series to writing about a book with complex themes of
misogny, racism and classism. But many anime do have these themes if you search for them. I guess I'll keep them
all together and make a seperate section if it feels awkward. Going to start reading Patternmaster by Octavia Butler soon.
I've read the rest of the patternist series so this will be the last book in it for me to read.